A Spring Safari

Image:  Harpers Bazaar.com

No, your eyes don’t need checking, after what feels like (to me) forever, I am back again. Apparently my version of uni holidays is to get as much on my plate as possible, which includes a wonderful internship with the amazing blog Breakfast With Audrey , where not only am I experiencing the behind-the-scenes of the industry, but I have also been given the opportunity to write for them too! My posts go up most Fridays so keep an eye out.

All things aside, this post is a result of the vibrant Safari trend, seen running rife throughout NYFW, with some of the top designers all too keen to show off their fun prints and designs.

Albeit, animal prints when not exercised with caution, can turn out a bit extremely tacky. However, when centred as the focus piece, this print is incredibly quirky.

The idea of this outfit is to maintain the printed pants as centre focus, while alluding to a sort of ‘rawness’ that would otherwise be found within the safari outback (all while, of course, looking good). Getting the right balance can be a challenge, but with the know-how, it’s a piece of cake.

I firstly started off with these Sass and Bide The Late Movie Jeans , which became the staple safari element. I then worked everything else around the texture and colours of these. A simple Black Jersey Tunic Slouched Top is perfect for the Spring, and the drape of it is a flattering contrast to the shapely style of the jeans. Colour blocking is key for statement pieces, we don’t want too much going on at once. These Morea Shoe Boots from Spurr are extremely complementary, bringing out the brown tones from the jeans, as well as the style adding femininity.

Finally, the accessories tie the whole look together. I was instantly drawn to the texture of this Guess Leather Chestnut Handbag, the raw look of it, to me, screams safari, while the texture and colours of this Sheilding Necklace from Forecast is a strong contrast to the simplicity of the black top, something about it reminds me of Indiana Jones.

And last, but certainly not least, I just had to add in the Michael Kors Rose Gold Watch.Not only was Michael Kors one of the first designers to express his love for this trend at Fashion Week, but its current status brings us back to the modernity of the outfit, not to mention I just love it.

I don’t know about you, but this spring I will be kicking it Safari style.

Leave a Reply

